Tracks Music Library Releases Two Compilation Albums With Songs From Triangle Area Bands

December 1, 2020

Learn More

Tracks Music Library, a new free music streaming platform launched in collaboration with Chapel Hill Public Library and Chapel Hill Community Arts & Culture, announces the release of two exclusive album compilations: Tracks Volume I: We Rise As Allies and Tracks Volume II: Isolation Illumination.

Launched in June with over 70 local bands, Tracks Music Library joined a small cadre of communities whose public libraries have created similar platforms, including Austin, Seattle, Nashville, and Pittsburgh. Featuring a wide range of music from area bands and musicians available for free streaming, the platform aims to help music lovers find new bands to enjoy and to help local musicians connect with new audiences.

To support local music during the pandemic, a few months into the Stay-At-Home order, Tracks Music Library staff commissioned two local producers and several library artists to create new music for an exclusive release via the digital music collection.

Inspired by the country’s forced isolation and Black Lives Matter protests, the 10 original compositions were written and recorded remotely over the summer. Each album features cover art by a selected visual artist inspired by the music and compilation title.

“Tracks and Thom Canova have been great motivators in a strange year. When we thought we were lost, this (song) pushed us to keep pushing forward.” said Adriana DeMeo of electro-pop duo Ghost Guns.

Tracks Volume I: We Rise As Allies features songs by country duo Violet Bell, jazz pianist Lydia Salett Dudley, soul singer Sonny Miles, R&B vocalist XOXOK, and hip-hop artist J Rowdy. The album was produced by Vibehouse 405 owner and local hip-hop artist Kevin ‘Kaze’ Thomas. Cover art was designed by Durham-based visual artist Chris Frisina.

Tracklist includes:

1. Can’t Say Nothing – Violet Bell

2. THE ULTIMATE – Sonny Miles

3. Good Trouble – Nathan Harris, Dasan Ahanu and J Rowdy

4. Winner In You – Lydia Salett Dudley

5. All In – XOXOK

Produced by Thom Canova, Tracks Volume II: Isolation Illumination includes music from electro-pop duo Ghost Guns, bluegrass collective Hard Drive, indie rock group Shelles, garage punk girls BANGZZ, and indie pop pair Pretend Chess. Local artist Cassidy Goff (also known as musician Alo Ver) created the cover art.

Tracklist includes:

1. Neon – Shelles

2. Landmark Motor Hotel Song – Pretend Chess

3. 6am – Ghost Gun

4. Love – BANGZZ

5. Put Your Hand On The Plow And Hold On – Hard Drive

The project was supported by grant funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (IMLS grant number LS-00-19-0034-19).

To listen to the new compilation albums and to explore the local music collection visit

More information on Chapel Hill Public Library is available at

For more information on Tracks Music Library, contact Melissa Bartoletta at

# # #